The team at HHF is comprised of senior business leaders, world-renowned scientists, and top quality doctors who are committed to delivering a cure for hearing loss and tinnitus. Meet our team below.

board of directors

The Board of Directors of Hearing Health Foundation is responsible for the leadership and governance of the organization, ensuring financial health and stability in order to achieve the mission. The Board works with in partnership with the CEO to set the strategic direction of the organization, while the CEO has primary oversight of day-to-day operations.
If interested in joining the board, please contact



Professor, Dept. of Surgery and Otolaryngology
University of California at San Diego

paul e. orlin - vice chair

Principal, Amici Capital LLC

Robert Boucai - TREASURER

Principal, Newbrook Capital Advisors LP

Mike Nolan.jpg

michael nolan - SECRETARY

Managing Director, J.P. Morgan


sophia boccard

Digital Marketing Strategist, Casa Lucila Hotel Boutique


noel l. cohen, m.d.

Chair Emeritus, Dept. of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery, New York University

judy r. dubno, ph.d.

Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery, Medical University of South Carolina

ruth anne eatock, ph.d.

Prof. of Neurobiology, Dean, Office of Faculty Affairs, Basic Sciences Division University of Chicago

jason frank

Vice President/Assistant General Counsel, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

roger m. harris

Chief Operating Officer, Newland Capital Management

DAVID S. HAYNES, M.D., FACS – Medical Director

Professor of Otolaryngology, Neurosurgery and Hearing & Speech Sciences, Vanderbilt University Otology Group

ANIL K. LALWANI, M.D. – Head, Council of Scientific Trustees

Professor & Vice Chair for Research, Division of Otology, Neurology & Skull Base Surgery, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons
Director, Columbia Cochlear Implant Program


Research Professor of Otolaryngology, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California


Honorary board

HHF's Honorary Board includes leaders in research and medical fields, actors, journalists, and business leaders. Honorary Board members have a strong connection and loyalty to our mission.

Patricia Denner Cayne, Ph.D.
Educational Psychologist and Language Pathologist

Armand P. D'Amato, Esq.
Managing Member
Park Strategies, LLC

Kassie and Jim DePaiva

George A. Gates, M.D.
Retired Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Director, Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center, University of Washington School of Medicine

Rebecca Ginzburg
Junto Capital Management LP

Richard Miyamoto, M.D.
Chairman, Department of Otolaryngology
Indiana University School of Medicine

Lee and Bob Woodruff

scientific advisory board

Bryan E. Crenshaw, Ph.D.
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Director of Basic Science Research, Division of Otolaryngology
Director of Basic Research, Center for Childhood Communication
Scientist, Mammalian Neurogenetics Group
Adjunct Associate Professor of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Lisa Goodrich, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Professor of Neurobiology

David Ornitz, M.D., Ph.D.
Washington University
Alumni Endowed Professor, Department of Developmental Biology Developmental Biology Program

David Pauls, Ph.D.
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Psychiatry
Psychiatric & Neurodevelopmental Genetics Unit
Center for Human Genetic Research

Edwin Rubel, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Department of Otolaryngology, at the Graduate Program in Neurobiology and Behavior, and the Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center at University of Washington

Doris Wu, Ph.D.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
Chief, Section on Sensory Cell Regeneration and Development
Chief, Laboratory of Molecular Biology

council of scientific trustees

The governing body of our Emerging Research Grants program, the Council of Scientific Trustees (CST), comprises senior national researchers and physicians who review each application for scientific merit and program relevance.

Anil K. Lalwani, M.D., Head of Council of Scientific Trustees
Professor and Vice Chair for Research
Director, Division of Otology, Neurotology and Skull Base Surgery
Director, Columbia Cochlear Implant Center
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Carey Balaban, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh

Robert A. Dobie, M.D.
Clinical Professor
Otology and Neurotology
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Judy R. Dubno, Ph.D.
Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Medical University of South Carolina

Jill B. Firszt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, Head-Neck Surgery
Director, Cochlear Implant and Hearing Loss Research Laboratory
Adjunct Faculty, Program in Audiology and Communication Sciences
Washington University School of Medicine

David S. Haynes, M.D., FACS
Professor of Otolaryngology, Neurosurgery and Hearing and Speech Sciences
Neurotology Division/Fellowship Program/Cochlear Implant Program Director
Vanderbilt University

Matthew W. Kelley, Ph.D.
Chief, Section on Developmental Neuroscience
Chief, Laboratory of Cochlear Development
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
National Institutes of Health

Sharon Kujawa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Otology and Laryngology

David Lim, M.D.
Department of Head & Neck Surgery
Director, Laboratory of Pathogenesis of Ear Diseases
UCLA Geffen School of Medicine

Ruth Litovsky, Ph.D.
Professor, Communicative Sciences and Disorders and Surgery/Otolaryngology
University of Wisconsin - Madison

Cynthia Morton, PhD
Medical Geneticist, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School

Yehoash Raphael, Ph.D.
Professor of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
University of Michigan

Allen F. Ryan, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery, Otolayrngology & Neurosciences
University of California, San Diego

Sam Selesnick, M.D., FACS
Professor and Vice Chairman
Department of Otolaryngology
Weill Cornell Medical College

Robert V. Shannon, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Univeristy of Southern California Biomedical Engineering

Jennifer Stone, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center
University of Washington

Peter S. Steyger, Ph.D
Professor of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Oregon Health & Science University

Daniel J. Tollin, Ph.D
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology & Biophysics
Department of Otolaryngology
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Debara L. Tucci, M.D.
Duke University Medical Center